QuickReview: DermStore Eyelash Curler

This is the first of a QuickReview series I’ll do, it’s a lot like a First Impressions type of thing. QuickReviews won’t contain as much detail as a full review and will contain only a few pictures.

Recently I ordered the LORAC Pro palette from blush.com because I had a 20% sitewide coupon from them for July 4th. As part of my purchase I received a free upgrade to 1-3day shipping with no minimum and a mystery gift along with 2 samples (some facial cleanser and sunscreen). Well, my mystery gift ended up being the DermStore Eyelash Curler ($12). Boy was I excited to get this because I actually was in need of a new eyelash curler as I purchased the new ELF eyelash curler, which by the way for $1.09 I guess gets the job done, however, is not nearly as spectacular as the old model which was FABULOUS and worth every penny and more. The new model tugged at my lashes and seemed a bit smaller and was less comfortable so I was only using it until I got around to buying a new curler from some other brand. Anyways, I’m so glad I procrastinated on buying a new curler because this baby is perfect!

Packaging: A+, uhm it’s so simple and cute with the polkadots and lovely fonts. Reminds me of washi tape, yes please!

Performance: A+, while it did tug on my lashes a little at first I think that my technique needs to be updated because I changed something with my technique and it was extremely comfortable. This baby curled my lashes and lengthened them so well I was shocked they were even my lashes!!

This is after an hour or two and I used like one coat of every mascara I owned because I was so pumped up, although it would look much better with just one or two coats with your fav mascara/

This is after an hour or two and I used like one coat of every mascara I owned because I was so pumped up, although it would look much better with just one or two coats with your fav mascara. Also I am not wearing any makeup other than mascara here so no eyeliner ;)…or concealer which I clearly need.

Comfort: A, This fits my eye shape so well and is great to the touch! I gave this just an A because I’m sure this could vary by person. The rubber grips are really nice. I was always hesitant to use a curler with grips like the ones from Tarte because it looks gross to me and uncomfortable.

Overall: A, I would definitely repurchase this. The only reason this isn’t an A+ is because it did not come with any pad refills, now this could be because mine was a gift rather than a purchase. I looked on their website to see if I could purchase some for later and I can’t seem to find them, so I’ve emailed them about it and will update this whenever I hear back from them. My ELF refill looks too small for this curler, but I wonder if any other refills for curlers like perhaps the Revlon ones would fit it. 

If I remember I will try to update the pictures on this so that I have a before/after pics but for now you get the idea.

Leave a Reply

